Wierd Rose Problem

Moderator: Izhar

aykhan
Donor
Donor
City: Lahore

Wierd Rose Problem

Post by aykhan »

The flowers on some of my roses are getting smaller and twisted despite the weather getting better. Some buds are not opening and the leaves are all curly. I'm attaching a couple of pics. I have not used any fertilizer or foliar. Any ideas pleas?
Attachments
IMG_0836.JPG
IMG_0836.JPG (86.63 KiB) Viewed 5511 times
IMG_0835.JPG
IMG_0835.JPG (92.75 KiB) Viewed 5511 times
dragoonsers
City: Karachi

Re: Wierd Rose Problem

Post by dragoonsers »

I am no expert. Maybe Umar Khan can help.

But i see that you water your leaves as well. Try not to get the buds wet when the flower is about to open. There are some insects which also affect buds from opening. Hope someone else can help u :)
mirafzalkhan
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by mirafzalkhan »

In my opinion it is Powdery Mildew.
Powdery Mildew is a fungal disease that affects the leaves and stems of a plant. The infected plant first develops white powder-like spots, which increase in size and become thicker as many spores form. This is can cause the leaves and buds to deform. It also infects flowers, causing them to develop abnormally or fail to open.

To prevent Powdery Mildew do not water your roses or garden after dark or in late evening.
American Rose Society suggests baking soda for control of Powdery Mildew & all other fungal diseases. Use 3 teaspoon of baking soda per gallon of water. You can also add one tablespoon cooking oil for sticking purpose.
aykhan
Donor
Donor

Post by aykhan »

I've been thinking its some kind of a fungal infection and sprayed the roses with an anti fungal. However, this does not seem like powdery mildew. I don't see any powdery stuff. I'm actually not every sure if it is just a fungal problem or could be some deficiency. The leaves color seem alright. When it was hotter I thought it might be the heat but that's not the case right now.
mirafzalkhan
Site Admin
Site Admin