Salam from Malaysia

New members introduce here. Tell us what you are growing, your interests and where you are growing.

Moderator: Izhar

selina.street9
City: kajang
Gardening Interests: To cultivate the rarely seen native plants such as tacca, gloriosa and medinilla.

Salam from Malaysia

Post by selina.street9 »

Assalamualaikum members!

I am a freelance translator from Malaysia. Semi retired and wants to garden more seriously now that I have more free time.

Here, there are groups that promote eco-tourism, plant a tree, clean our rivers, etc. As for me, I want to make Malaysians be aware of their native plants.

Hoya I thought was an imported exotic but upon reading, is actually a native plant found in the rain-forest. Foreigners that do research in Malaysia on ID missions gather them and have been cultivating this plant for decades. It has only made an appearance a few years ago in nurseries!

Tacca - most Malaysians have never seen this plant. It grows wild under large trees near my parent's house but no one took a second look because it is not showy and probably considered as a weed. The Australians actually took species of this plant and made huge commercial nurseries there - I found it on youtube.

Gloriosa lily. I have only seen this plant twice, in a mini forest once, took some cuttings but it did not grow (next time - research first!). Most Malaysian have never seen it either and does not know of such plant.