Looking for wild strawberry in Pakistan

New members introduce here. Tell us what you are growing, your interests and where you are growing.

Moderator: Izhar

akheilos
City: Islamabad
Gardening Interests: More interested in agricultural research...

Looking for wild strawberry in Pakistan

Post by akheilos »

Assalamualaikum,

I am a PhD student. I use wild strawberry as a model species to do research.

I am interested to know where and what kind of wild strawberries can I find in Pakistan?

I research on Strawberry and am interested in the varities present in Pakistan...I had written to the govt and some institutes (a total of 13 emails) but only 1 replied and the guy sounded really weird....I have asked 1-2 relatives in Pakistan to help but I doubt that is enough...So here is what I need help in:

I need to know if there is different varieties of wild strawberry present in Pakistan...and no not from your back garden but wild strawberries ...I know there are but I cant seem to get my hands on them....

If you know someone in some agriculture or breeding institutes or NGO or some companies can I please get some websites...

I am willing to start a collaboration if needed but for now I just want wild strawberry plants shipped to Europe...I collaborate with 5 research stations....

Below are examples:

Fragaria vesca plants grow to around 0.3 m (1 ft) high, short, woody stems and a basal rosette of compound leaves, with 3 coarsely toothed leaflets around 6 cm (2.5 in) long. The plants are characterized by long arching runners or stolons, which form new plantlets at the tip, and that allow them to reproduce vegetatively as well as by seed. The small, white, 5-parted flowers, 1.25 to 2 cm (0.5 to 0.75 in), occur in small clusters. The strawberries formed in the wild, uncultivated types are quite small, 1 to 2 cm (0.25 to 0.75 in) across, and generally ripen to red (although there is a white form).