Gardenias

Enjoy our Senior Member's Beautiful Blooms!

Moderator: Izhar

aykhan
Donor
Donor
City: Lahore

Gardenias

Post by aykhan »

I have acquired different varieties of Gardenia over the past year but struggle to make them bloom. I think I have some knowledge now of their likes and dislikes which will inshallah help them to bloom. As they bloom I will post pictures on this thread inshallah. Today I finally have a bloom to share of Gardenia jasminoides 'fortuniana' :D
Attachments
Gardenia jasminoides 'fortuniana'
Muhammad Arif Khan
Donor
Donor

Re: Gardenias

Post by Muhammad Arif Khan »

I would love to gain from your experience and grow as many as I can.
aykhan
Donor
Donor

Post by aykhan »

What I have figured out is that root rot is common with gardenias and that in Lahore they will likely do better in pots or a filtered light location. They should be well watererd and then allowed to dry completely dry before rewatering. I have also got a pH meter now and add used coffee ground to keep pH at 6 or less. I only use peat moss and compost as a medium. Still experimenting Brig saheb let's see how this works out this year for my gardenias.
Muhammad Arif Khan
Donor
Donor

aykhan wrote:What I have figured out is that root rot is common with gardenias and that in Lahore they will likely do better in pots or a filtered light location. They should be well watererd and then allowed to dry completely dry before rewatering. I have also got a pH meter now and add used coffee ground to keep pH at 6 or less. I only use peat moss and compost as a medium. Still experimenting Brig saheb let's see how this works out this year for my gardenias.
Which type of PH meter it is and where did you get it from?
AhmadIrfan
Donor
Donor

Post by AhmadIrfan »

The fragrance of gardenias is mesmerizing but its difficult to keep alive requires constant care.
aykhan
Donor
Donor

Post by aykhan »